Daniel Hjorth was born in 1973 in Laholm on the west coast of Sweden. He studied
composition with Sven-David Sandström (Gotland School of Music Composition), Kent
Olofsson, Javier Alvàrez and Hans Gefors (Malmö Academy of Music). He
received his diploma in composition in 2001. During 2002 he lived and worked at Akademie
Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart, Germany. In 1996 he won the Gotland Chamber Music
Festival Composition Competition (with “Blood, Death and Sexy Legs”) and in 1997 the
Composition Competition for the Swedish National Radio Symphony Orchestra (with “Crop
Circles”). In 2000 he made an interactive sound installation, which attracted a great deal of
attention on the city trams of Helsinki, Finland called “STOP”. Since 1999 he has been working
closely with director Åsa Kalmér making electronic music for theatre, radio and TV (“Self-
Portraits of Unknown Men”- 2003, “To Mourn Linnea” – 2004, “Queen K” – 2005 and “War
Turists” – 2008 to mention a few). In 2012 his Symphony no 1 (“Time Changes”) was
premiered by Malmö Symphony Orchestra. In January 2014 his percussion concerto
“Drum for your life” was premiered by Gävle Symphony Orchestra with Glenn Larsson as the
soloist. The chamber opera “Det Dybeste Sted” (The Deepest Place) was premiered in the summer of 2014 and was selected to be shown at the Swedish Biennial for Performing Arts in 2015.

Besides working as a freelance composer he is teaching at Malmö
Academy of Music.


Daniel Hjorth
244 71 Dösjebro
Absalons väg 10
+46(0)739-48 12 12
info AT danielhjorth DOT com